Having a professional DUI attorney can cost you in the short term. But they’ll also save you a lot of money after you’re caught and arrested for driving under the influence.
How much can they save you? Well, the answer is that it honestly depends. If this was your first misdemeanor DUI, you might save a few hundred to a thousand dollars. But if you’re a repeat offender, you may save thousands of dollars by getting a DUI attorney.
We’ll cover how much a DUI lawyer costs, along with other factors that could impact how much you might pay for a DUI.
How does a DUI impact car insurance rates?
If you have a DUI on your record, you can expect to pay hundreds of dollars more for car insurance coverage. That’s because insurers will see you as a risk and liability on the road. Some studies have shown that drivers with DUIs should expect to pay an average of $791 more per year for coverage than drivers with clean records.
Drivers with other incidents on their record like speeding tickets or accidents already pay higher insurance rates. Adding a DUI into the mix raises those rates even more.
What does a DUI cost beyond insurance?
Beyond your car insurance rates spiking, you should expect to pay hundreds to thousands of dollars for your DUI, depending on the details surrounding your DUI and your state’s laws. Here are some ideas of expenses you might face in addition to your rising car insurance premium:
- Traffic school and treatment programs: Your DUI sentencing will likely require traffic school and treatment programs. These tend to range in price from $150 to $500.
- Court-ordered fines: These fines vary significantly from state to state, but you can expect to pay a few hundred dollars at a minimum.
- DMV fees: Your license may be suspended due to your DUI. To contest the suspension of your license, you will need to attend a court hearing that you pay for and a license reinstatement fee.
- Towing: When you’re arrested for DUI, your car is towed and stored. You will need to pay the related costs for your vehicle to be released back to you.
- Bail: A bail for a misdemeanor DUI can cost anywhere from $150 to $10,000. The amount will depend on your criminal history and the details of your DUI.
- Lost wages: Attending court hearings for your DUI, traffic school, and a treatment program eats into how much time you’re available to work.
How much will you pay for a DUI lawyer?
In California, a DUI attorney typically charges between $1,500 and $5,000 for a first-time misdemeanor. However, if you decide to choose a California DUI Lawyer Association specialist, you can expect to pay $2,500 to $4,500.
Some factors that affect how much you’ll pay for a DUI lawyer include:
- Whether they are working at an established firm
- The details of your case
- The outcome of your DUI case
Schedule a consultation now for a courtroom advantage
DUI conviction or probation can alter your life irreversibly. When facing a DUI charge, you need premier representation. At Taxman DUI Defense, we are a top-rated DUI law firm passionate about protecting your rights. We exhaust every potential solution to preserve your freedom, reputation, and livelihood.
With over 20 years of experience and a strong record of success for hundreds of clients, we can clear your record and your name. Schedule a consultation now.